UK Nationals 2014 – Lists & Iron Gauntlet

Lists were decided about a week before the Nationals with the intention of playing them in both the IG and Masters. The Friday IG would be used as ‘practice’ for the Masters on Saturday and Sunday.

I took my usual Cataphract spamming Fist of Halaak, I think its becoming something of a joke now. Makeda2 who i’ve recently started playing, due to some influence from Trevor from Chain Attack, containing five heavies to smash people up from miles away. Finally Mordikaar, who I was persuaded to play about a week before when I was stressing over a third list that could cover matchups I didn’t want the Fist for. Out of the three the Fist was the only one I had real game time with. I’ve played a bit with Mordikaar and Makeda2 with slightly different builds but if i’m going to steal a list I should trust the people who made it. Any losses are mine not the lists.

Tyrant Xerxis (*5pts) – Fist of Halaak T2
* Archidon (7pts)
Cataphract Arcuarii (Leader and 3 Grunts) (5pts)
Cataphract Arcuarii (Leader and 3 Grunts) (5pts)
Cataphract Arcuarii (Leader and 3 Grunts) (5pts)
Cataphract Arcuarii (Leader and 3 Grunts) (5pts)
Cataphract Cetrati (Leader and 5 Grunts) (10pts)
Cataphract Incindiarii (Leader and 3 Grunts) (5pts)
Cataphract Incindiarii (Leader and 3 Grunts) (5pts)
Cataphract Incindiarii (Leader and 3 Grunts) (5pts)
Tyrant Commander & Standard Bearer (3pts)

Supreme Archdomina Makeda (*5pts)
* Basilisk Krea (4pts)
* Bronzeback Titan (10pts)
* Molik Karn (11pts)
* Titan Gladiator (8pts)
* Titan Gladiator (8pts)
* Titan Sentry (9pts)
Paingiver Beast Handlers (Leader and 3 Grunts) (2pts)
Paingiver Beast Handlers (Leader and 3 Grunts) (2pts)
Swamp Gobber Bellows Crew (Leader and 1 Grunt) (1pts)

Void Seer Mordikaar (*5pts)
* Basilisk Drake (4pts)
* Basilisk Krea (4pts)
* Tiberion (11pts)
Bloodrunners (Leader and 5 Grunts) (5pts)
Cataphract Cetrati (Leader and 5 Grunts) (11pts)
* Tyrant Vorkesh (3pts)
Nihilators (Leader and 9 Grunts) (8pts)
Paingiver Beast Handlers (Leader and 3 Grunts) (2pts)
Tyrant Commander & Standard Bearer (3pts)
Agonizer (2pts)
Mortitheurge Willbreaker (2pts)

Smooth(ish) journey up for myself and three others from Pigmar Thursday evening. The same crew for our ETC team, Ryan, Chris and Ian. Arrived at Stockport around 10pm and went straight to bed, but not after picking up Martyn Jenkins to keep Ryan company through the night.

Iron Gauntlet

Game 1 – Adam Jones

Mordikaar vs eMorvahna in outflank

I’ve never played Adam before and he had he expected me to drop the Fist but I decided to take some advice given to me before and play Mordikaar into it. I was personally expecting eKrueger assuming he wouldn’t eMorv vs the Fist so not the match I expected.  I think I won the roll and opted to go first.

Turn 1, Mordikaar puts Hollow on the Bloodrunners and Banishing Ward on the Nihilators and my army runs up the board. Adam puts Carnivore on the Skinwalkers also runs his army up the board.

Turn 2, I position my Bloodrunners further up the board in the zone and have Nihilators hang around behind them expecting his Wolves to come in. Cetrati Press Forwarded into the right zone, Tiberion chilled in the middle looking meancing. Adam charges two Skinwalkers into my Cetrati dealing minimal damage, his Wolves kill off four of my Bloodrunners. Druids don’t manage much as everything is spell immune.

Turn 3, Drake walks up sprays some Wolves down, Nihilators clear out several more. With a few left my Bloodrunners get into them and Shadowplay into Essence Blast position. Mordikaar gets Puppet Strings and uses two Essence Blasts to kill the Stone Keeper and the last two Wolves so Adam couldn’t bring them back anymore. This also clears the right zone so I can start scoring and Mordikaar pops his Feat. Cetrati hang on in the right zone and get rid of the two Skinwalkers engaging them.

DSC_0090

Charges his Skinwalkers into the Cetrati again removing one. Stones and Druids contest the left zone. A Stalker charges a Nihilator intending to kill it and sprint away but fails the charge as the wall prevents him getting close enough. Morv uses a Deathknell to kill a couple Cetrati. My Feat stops most of Adams aggression this turn.

Turn 4, Nihilators and Drakes clear the left zone out, Mordikaar starts wandering over to the zone. Tiberion charges up and smashes the Stalker. Cetrati continue their poking war with the Skinwalkers on the right side. Adam Feats and has his Skinwalkers eat a couple Cetrati, more stones teleport into the right zone. The Feral decides to go in and kills off another Cetrati.

DSC_0091DSC_0092

Turn 5, once again I go about clearing out the left zone hindered by the Druid clouds everywhere but manage to get it thank to Tiberion boosting to hit a couple Druids. Cetrati mess around in the right zone some more. Mordikaar finally makes his way into the zone and I score 2CPs and get up to 4 total. Adam clears out my remaining Cetrati from the right and has Morv dominate but can’t get enough into the left zone.

DSC_0093

Turn 6, I clear out what remains and win on Scenario.

Game went heavily in my favor when I managed to get the Stone Keeper and all the Wolves. Basically meaning 10 less bodies to kill and preventing any double teleport crap. Adam did not expect the Mordikaar drop he definately thought I was going to play the Fist against him. There was also some unfamiliarity with my units and abilities, especially when it came to everything being spell immune so the Druids weren’t getting a lot done. One interaction I found nice was how the druid anti magic doesn’t stop me from exploding my stuff over his!

Game 2 – Peter Bates

Xerxis vs eHexeris in Incursion

I’ve talked to Pete about Skorne several times since I met him in London a few months back, good man. Don’t agree with his Fist build :P. He had already used his Fist and was left with eHexeris and pMakeda Mammoth. I dropped my Fist and Pete used eHexeris. I loose the roll off and go second.

Turn 1, Pete puts Ashen Veil on the Nihilators and moves his army up as well. Right flag dissappears. I put Defenders Ward on the Cetrati and the entire force runs.

Turn 2, Pete Rushes his Drakes and walk up to sprays down onto the Cetrati. Rievers combine shots and managage to take down one Cetrati. Nihilators run up around the middle flag and Pete has his Beast angle towards the left flag.

DSC_0094

I think Pete had about four Nihilators and his two Drakes within 4″ of the central flag so I try to clear it. Incindiarii fire off enough shots to clear out the Nihilators, during the turn Pete fails all seven tough rolls he made. Arcuarii drag or Charge the Drakes to kill them and my Cetrati walk onto the Flag to score 1CP.

DSC_0095

Turn 3, Pete has his Nihilators and Molik go in and kill some Cataphracts before Fate walking out. Reivers continue to fire combined shots. Pete has his Arcidon fly onto the left flag and score a point. On my turn I clear out the middle flag for another CP and Feat hoping to kill Molik. After four charges and some forced rerolls Molik lives. Arcuarii contest the left flag.

Turn 4, Pete has his Gladiator and Arcidon clear out the contesting Arcuarii.  Molik bops a couple Cataphracts and walks away. eHex Feats heals Molik and Fate Walks onto the left flag for 2 more CP camping 3 Fury. Derp derp, I haven’t got enough stuff to get to the left flag before Pete wins on Scenario.  One Arcuarii is within aiming range of eHex, he shoots hits and drags eHex closer, great success! eHex and the Arcuarii are however too far away for Xerxis to Combo-Slam Hex to the floor. Tycom Charges the Arcuarii who dragged in eHex killing him while the Standard runs into position. The Standard gets slammed into eHex by Xerxis, thankfully not rolling a 1 on distance. Two units of Incindiarii charge and shoot eHex to death.

I played like a pleb and had to go for a 7s to hit drag assassination. Should never have happened. Pete made his own mistake when he spent Fury after Feating to heal Molik back up, camping the full 7 would have made the assassination nearly impossible unless I rolled stupid numbers on the damage rolls. I’ll have to play Pete again in future but better, he definately outplayed me but I outlucked him it feels so awkward.

Game 3 – Duncan Harradine

Makeda2 vs Venethrax in Close Quarters

Bad times… I have a 5 heavy build Makeda2 list vs well… Cryx. Making it even worse I loose the roll to go first.

Turn 1, Duncan runs his Raiders up at full speed and has everything else follow. I move up at not full speed and prepare for the charge.

Turn 2, Duncan charges the Raiders into my Titans not doing much damage as he missed a few charges. Venethrax pops his Feat and the Banes follow behind and the Witches go Incoporeal. On my turn I pop feat and kill all the raiders, Molik moves off to the side and kills Tarterus and a couple Banes before Fate Walking back. There are litereally clouds everywhere by the end of my turn. Paingivers whip the Fury from my beasts so they don’t Frenzy. I can’t stop Duncan scoring on my turn. Never went for the assassination as I was dice minus 12 on damage rolls….

Turn 3, Banes and Witches charge in killing my Sentry and dealing big damage to Molik. Venethrax stays still and keeps dominating. Duncan clears my flag and moves up to 3CP. Not good. Makeda tries to heal Molik but the Hag is too close and too ugly. Bronzeback tramples over 4 Witches and 2 Banes only leaving the Hag alive, gets to his Ripjaw uses TrainWreck and beats his way around to kill the Hag and get into the contest range of the flag. The Hag dead I can heal Molik with Paingivers and he kills most of the banes around my flag. Gladiators throw Witches into other Witches and punches a Warwitch dead. Fury is pulled off by Paingivers but I forget to take the Fury from my Bronzeback.

Turn 4, Banes charge around but fail to kill Molik. One gets free struck by Molik and toughs, which is good for me because my Bronzeback could counter charge away. he wouldn’t be contesting but Venethrax was going to kill him anyway and take his Fury. However, now Molik is the only thing contesting my flag. The Ripjaw walks up and Venethrax puts out a boosted Hellfire which hits and kills Molik to get his last two CP.

DSC_0097

Urrgh, Cryx = bad. Good game though. At the time I charged the BB away I thought that if the dice worked I could have the BB left to chomp on Venethrax but in the end a scenario loss as Molik died. It ended much closer than I had thought Duncan not having much left on the board, still not good though. I would have liked to have controlled my own flag a bit more but with Duncan winning the first turn I was under to much pressure. Duncan had a very interesting set of lists which were quite different from normal Cryx lists, i’m not sure if I would have dropped Mordikaar against all of them in hindsight. Why is Fist so good!? I’ll look forward to a rematch in future, even if it means I have to play against Cryx some more.

I ended up placing 7th overall in the IG, pretty good! Spent the rest of the evening playing Netrunner and watching over my young Skorne padawan Owen.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “UK Nationals 2014 – Lists & Iron Gauntlet

  1. Seems like a solid result and some close games. The Xerxis list looks really impressive on the battlefield – very intimidating!

    Are you planning on making any changes to these lists based on the games you had?

Leave a Reply

